Beautifully engraved antique stock certificate from the Memphis City Railroad Company dating back to the 1870's. This document, which has been signed by the company President and Secretary, was printed by H. Wade & Co. Printers of Memphis, and measures approximately 11 1/4" (w) by 7 1/2" (h).
This certificate's vignette features a saddled horse. There is also a vibrant blue underprint of a horse-drawn trolley car.
You will receive the exact certificate pictured. Please note edge faults particularly along top margin. Cropped into left side border. Toning. Still a nice example that is becoming increasingly hard to find.
The Memphis City Railroad Company was incorporated in June of 1865.
Within a year, the company had constructed lines from Jackson Street, near the Mississippi and Tennessee Railroad depot, along Main Street to the Louisville and Nashville Railroad depot; from Main at Poplar Street to the Boulevard; from Main at Beale, Lauderdale and Vance Streets to a point opposite St. Agnes Academy (on Vance near Orleans); and from Main on Jefferson to the Memphis and Charleston Railroad depot. The lines covered a distance of ten miles.
In 1872, the line was extended to Kerr Street in Chelsea and three years later from Main and Vance to Estival Park.
The company later merged with the Citizen's Street Railway.