Beautifully engraved antique stock certificate from the Ahmeek Mining Company of Michigan dating back to the 1910's. This document, which is signed by the company Assistant President and Assistant Secretary, was printed by the John A. Lowell Bank Note Company and measures approximately 11" (w) by 8" (h).
This certificate features a great vignette of a pair of beavers.
You will receive the exact certificate pictured.
The Ahmeek Mining Company was organized in 1880 as an exploration wing of the Seneca Mining Company to work the Kearsarge Conglomerate lode. The original operations consisted of two shallow shafts, but production was irregular at best. In 1903, with the discovery of the Kearsarge Amygdaloid lode, the Ahmeek Mining Company became it's own operation.
The new workings consisted of four inclined shafts that worked to a depth of approximately 3,000 ft. Two of the shafts, 3 and 4, were unique in that both were serviced from a common shafthouse.
In 1923, the company merged with C&H and operations were suspended in 1931. After the depression ended the mine reopened in 1936 and continued until about 1966 when the mine closed permanently.